Ok so it’s not jewelry

But last weekend I was experimenting with sugar scrub recipes and found some that I’m absolutely in love with.  I made a vanilla brown sugar scrub, a lemon scrub, and a lemon honey scrub.  The regular lemon ended up way too oily, but the lemon honey and the vanilla brown sugar are absolutely heavenly.  The lemon is very fresh, while the vanilla one smells like fresh baked cookies.  I made myself an 8 oz jar of each, and the vanilla one is more than half gone already, with the lemon one well on its way.

Image

Recipes:

Lemon Honey Sugar Scrub

2 1/2 cups of white sugar

1/2 cup of oil (I use canola, no added fragrance, and it’s affordable)

4 teaspoons of lemon juice

4 tablespoons of honey

zested lemon

When I made a batch today, I put the lemon juice and zest into the oil a few hours before mixing in the sugar and honey, just to let it infuse the oil a little better.  I made a double batch and it was a little too dry, so I did end up adding some extra oil and lemon juice.  I’d recommend adding more lemon juice first and just a touch of oil if your original paste is too dry.

Vanilla brown sugar

2 cups brown sugar

1 cup white sugar

1 cup oil

1 tablespoon vanilla

Mix through the sugar before adding oil and vanilla to be sure there’s no lumps.   When I make this again I think I’ll add the vanilla to the oil earlier in the day to infuse it like I did with the lemon.  And since mine is almost gone, I guess I’ll be doing that soon…

On a side note, a friend of mine provides the awesome lemons off her lemon tree.  The jar in this photo is a 16 ounce jar, so when you realize that reference, you can see that these are absolutely huge lemons.  Thank you, Teri!  (And for the record, if you have more lemons and sugar than you need, mix a shot of lemon juice with a dash of sugar, then add some vodka.  Perfect after-scrub treat.  😉 )

Leave a Reply

